comment 0

Lovely London

All things considered, this city is pretty bizarre. The first place I went was Piccadilly Circus (I’m not going to lie, it was because I wanted to go shopping), where I was confronted by this.

Some oddball has decided to put the statue of Eros in a giant bubble and blow fake snow around it for the holidays. The bubble has advertising on it. Welcome to London.

It’s not all bad, but it generally consistently weird.

I met up with my parents in London, for the first time in a long time. A cold Christmas is an enormously big deal to us in the Other Hemisphere and the novelty of a weather-appropriate Christmas is yet to wear in the face of biting winds and cold toes. Needless to say, we stayed in a pretty schmick neighbourhood. (…)

London is a familiarish point these days so we skipped all the must-dos for a best-of.

First the parks, where squirrels eat leaves.

Harrods, to wander the food court and feel sorry for ourselves.
The funny thing about it is that it’s very really mostly tourists inside. Figures; if you can afford the clothes, generally speaking you can afford a private shop and avoid the hordes taking illegal photos of the Diana shrine and blocking the escalator.

The V&A, which, embarrassingly, was a first. I stuck to historical fashion, jewellery, Japan and Korea because I am a cliche of myself.

More to come, I have radishes to chop up.

 

Leave a Reply

