comment 1

Play Tourist: Watsons Bay

Watsons Bay

Early autumn holds just the best and nicest weather: warm enough to be bearable and usually breezy, enough sun to make you feel healthy and good. It’s the kind of thing you spend all summer grasping at and finally receive en masse, as if somebody flicked a switch on 1st March. 

After wasting the first day of my perennial three-day weekend (thank you, liberal arts) eating toast and — actually, that was about it — I needed to get out of the Yellow Room. Lovely Sydney is always ready to oblige and so is my student travel concession. How I looked.

Watsons Bay

I love that ferries are like buses and trains in this city; it’s so easy (and cheap! my god!) to ride through the harbour, around the point and off into the blue. 

Watsons Bay has a lighthouse so that’s where I wanted to go. Nobody told me about the water, though. (Sorry, Northern Hemisphere! I’m sure your water will be equally as pretty when it thaws.)

Watsons Bay

Watsons Bay

Watsons Bay

I didn’t bring a towel but there was no resisting. And so, an after-swim snack, naturally. 

Watsons Bay

Watsons Bay

The community itself is just so charming. I’ve already complained about the pace in this city; it’s so nice to know there’s a place where life is a little easier, and a woman will slow down her car and hang out the window to tell you she thinks the cat you’re patting is cute.

Watsons Bay

Watsons Bay

Watsons Bay

Watsons Bay

Watsons Bay

It feels so refreshing to force myself to get out and do these things. Sometimes it’s tempting to take the city for granted; I’m guilty a hundred times over of shrinking my world to the routes from home to work, from the supermarket to the cinema and back over again. It makes me miserable to think of the things I’ve missed (a James Bond exhibition, assorted political rallies, Neuschwanstein Castle, etc) but, as usual, hopeful that it’ll motivate me to get off my butt and out of the postcode.

I did make it out to the light-house, by the way.

Watsons Bay

 

1 Comment so far

Leave a Reply

