comment 0

My room faces the canal

 

I’m cultivating a love of movie soundtracks. There are the unbeatable two, always and forever, but Carter Burwell’s work on In Bruges comes a stunning second.

I think it must have something to do with the film. The music is irrationally beautiful but I’m beginning to wonder about this coincidence of film scores from European settings. Do I love them even more because they remind me of the movie and so, that city? I can’t deny that every time I listen to this album all I see is swans, string lights reflecting on inkish water, cobbled streets and this really excellent 24/7 automatic stamp machine the Belgians have. That said, music is meant to remind you of things; that’s why my contemporaries get teary at the opening strands of High School Musical

 

Leave a Reply

