comment 1

Traditional weekend pt I

Weekend

If you’ve been away for a while, returning to all the things you used to do is so exciting and fresh. It’s like breathing new life into old memories. The weekend in Melbourne was grey and rainy and abruptly, blindingly bright. More importantly it was cold, really painfully chilly (by Australian standards, I mean); I missed hurting from the cold when I was in Sydney. Winter in Melbs is so delicious and cosy — just cold enough to make being warm really valuable. Much appreciation for winter sun, too. 

Weekend

Weekend

Saturday was beautiful in the beginning. I wandered around the neighbourhood with sunglasses on and admired all the old buildings. At least a third of all houses in Williamstown must be converted pubs. Ended up at Cobb Lane for coffee and doughnuts with M, who has the most wonderfully infectious laugh I’ve met. Maybe not the most nutritious breakfast going but I feel like the lemon doughnut covers part of my fruit intake (it had zest in). The other was salt caramel which probably doesn’t. 

Weekend

Williamstown was hosting its annual vintage fair at the weekend and I ran into some good luck to get a ticket from the fine ladies of Dames of Distinction. It was all the things suburban vintage fairs should be; heavenly good fun. There were lots of sweet old ladies pointing and saying, ‘Oh, I had one just the same,’ before silently adding (I assume), ‘Think of the money I could make today if I’d held onto it’. Nothing for me but a lot of heartache.

Weekend

Such dreamy jewellery too from Vintage Sisters, sent direct from one sister to another across a few oceans. 

Weekend

Weekend

The town hall is so pretty, too. All the old signage is still up, wish I could have taken a picture of the entrance to the bathrooms without the possibility of an arrest. 

Weekend

The weather turned in the afternoon when I went to see T in the city. Haven’t seen her since London so it was a sort of reunion. Talked about travel and cake and the benefits of Melbourne having a Uniqlo (these benefits are endless and come in every colour). 

Weekend

Weekend

Little details I love about Melbourne.

Weekend

Finally to finest Nieuw Amsterdam with lovely flowers for a lovely birthday girl. More doughnuts — this time pumpkin with cinnamon and buried in brandy-cream. Could go on for years about this food. 

Weekend

An extra for dreaming:

Weekend

1 Comment so far

  1. Oh, I hope I’m an adorable old lady when I grow up! And maybe I WILL hold onto some of my clothing for future vintage sales.

Leave a Reply

